History of the Inglewood Hotel
Doors of the Inglewood Hotel opened on the 16th of May 1936 after much fevour and fanfare.
The heritage-listed Spanish Mission-style hotel was built after the residents petitioned for a licensed venue in the area. At the time, a caveat existed excluding the presence of hotels in the Mt Lawley area because, as legend has it, Lady Lawley allowed the suburb to be named after her on the condition that there be no hotels in the area. So the hotel was named “Inglewood Hotel” even though it’s located in Mount Lawley, close to the Inglewood border of Central Avenue.
The hotel has had three owners during its 80-plus years of existence and was purchased by its current owner, Murray Cutbush, in 1992. Murray is a passionate hotelier with over five decades of experience in the industry. He is very hands-on and is constantly looking at ways to improve the hotel customers’ experience. He is a big supporter of the community and continues to support local businesses, schools, and sporting groups. He is the backbone of the hotel and the creator of ‘Your friendly local’.